



BOARD OF DIRECTORS ZOOM MEETING MINUTES – APRIL 3, 2024

**Members participating in this meeting:** Dr. Brent Alvar, Dr. Ian Jeffreys (non-voting), Dr. Jaynie Bjornaraa, Dr. Disa Hatfield, Dr. Jay Dawes, Dr. Brandon Roberts, Mr. Antonio Squillante, Ms. Kim Koy, and Mr. Robert Linkul.

Members not present: Dr. Duncan French

Also present at times: Guests from Human Design: Rob Hofferman and Paul DesRosiers; NSCA Foundation Staff: Carissa Gump; NSCA Staff: Michael Massik, Lee Madden, Scott Douglas, Keith Cinea, Alonso Montiel, Mary-Clare Brennan, and Christina Templeton.

The meeting of the NSCA Board of Directors was called to order at 9:03 am Mountain Time (MT) on Wednesday, April 3, 2024, by Dr. Brent Alvar, NSCA President. A quorum was present.

# **CONSENT AGENDA**

The following motions were adopted by unanimous consent:

- 2024-04-03-01 Approval of the January 3, 2024 Meeting Minutes
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve the January 3, 2024, Board of Directors Meeting Minutes as presented.
- 2024-04-03-02 Approval to release the names of the career winners from the January 3, 2024, Executive Session and approve the Meeting Minutes
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve the January 3, 2024, Board of Directors Executive Session Meeting Minutes and permit the names of the Career Award winners to be public.
- 2024-04-03-03 Ratify the Executive Council vote and Approve the Minutes (interim budget)
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors ratify the Executive Council vote and approve the minutes as presented.
- 2024-04-03-04 Approval of NSCA Foundation Board Members
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Don Melrose for a second term and Kevin Schultz for a first term as members of the Foundation Board of Directors.
- 2024-04-03-05 Approval of the Awards and Honors Committee Members
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Bob Jones as an Awards and Honors Committee member as well as a second term for Alexis Batrakoulis.
- 2024-04-03-06 pulled for additional discussion.

2024-04-03-07 – Approval of College Strength and Conditioning Coaches Professional Development Group Members

Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Scott Bennett, Justin Lima, and Alice Read as College Strength and Conditioning Coaches Professional Development Group members.

- 2024-04-03-08 Approval of Conference Committee Members
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Scott Bennett and Jason Casey as Conference Committee members, with Catherine King as an Alternate if needed.
- 2024-04-03-09 Approval of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Members
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve J. Derek Kingsley, Aysia Shellmire, and Frederick Walker as Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee member as well as second terms for Terique Boyd, Sandra Da Rocha, and Jenevieve Roper.
- 2024-04-03-10 Approval of Education Committee Members
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Sean Collins as an Education Committee member with Kyle Beyer as an Alternate if needed.
- 2024-04-03-11 Approval of High School Strength and Conditioning Coaches Professional Development Group Members

**Adopted Motion**: That the Board of Directors approve Tyler Brooks and Jonmarc Rasberry as High School Coaches Professional Development Group members, with Travis Osborne as an Alternate if needed.

- 2024-04-03-12 Approval of Membership Committee Members
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Sean Collins and Angel Merced Goire as Membership Committee members as well as second terms for AJ Mortara and Ben Reuter.
- 2024-04-03-13 Approval of Personal Trainers Professional Development Group Members
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Joshua Dillaha as a Personal Trainers Professional Development Group member, as well as second terms for Gini Grimsley and Susie Reiner.
- 2024-04-03-14 Approval of Research Committee Members
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Haley Bergstrom, Adam Gonzalez, and Kyle Beyer as Research Committee members.
- 2024-04-03-15 Approval of Tactical Professional Development Group Members
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Tony Carney and Jason Soileau as Tactical Strength and Conditioning Professional Development Group Members, with Drew Betteridge as an Alternate if needed.
- 2024-04-03-16 Approval of Women's Committee Members
  Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Laanna Carrasco and Aysia Shellmire as Women's Committee members with Diane Swauger as an Alternate if needed.

The follow motion was pulled from the consent agenda for additional discussion:

2024-04-03-06 – Approval of Certification Committee Members
 Proposed by: Dr. Brent Alvar
 Vote: Passed Unanimously

 Seconded by: Dr. Jaynie Bjornaraa
 Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve Jordan Downes as the At-Large member and Lee Brown as the International member of the Certification Committee.

# **REPORTS OF OFFICERS**

### President's Report

• Dr. Jaynie Bjornaraa volunteered to serve on the Board Policy and Procedures Manual subcommittee, to perform the annual review.

### **Treasurer's Report**

- The Board of Directors review the 2024-2025 budget.
  - Rob Hofferman, VP Managing Partner and Paul DesRosiers from Human Design presented information on campaign work for the CSCS to CASCE accreditation.
  - The Board discussed NSCA Foundation funding.

#### • Amendment to motion 2011-07-07-01

Proposed by: Dr. Brent Alvar Vote: Passed Unanimously Seconded by: Dr. Jaynie Bjornaraa Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve \$30,000 annually for the directed research grant and budget NSCA Foundation funding annually as approved by the Board of Directors for this year and moving forward.

2024-04-03-17 – Approval of the 2024 – 2025 Budget
 Proposed by: Dr. Jaynie Bjornaraa
 Vote: Passed Unanimously
 Seconded by: Ms. Kim Koy
 Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve the 2024-2025 budget as presented.

## **REPORTS OF COMMITTEES**

- An update was provided on the 2024 Women's Mentorship Program and speaker sensitivity training video.
- An update on the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion leadership program, social events at National Conference, and award recognitions was provided.

### **GENERAL ORDERS**

2024-04-03-18 – Approval of the amendment to the Bylaws
 Proposed by: Dr. Brent Alvar
 Vote: Passed Unanimously
 Seconded by: Dr. Jay Dawes

 Adopted Motion: That the Board of Directors approve the amendment of Article II, Section 14 to the NSCA's Bylaws, as presented.

# **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

• CSCS transition to CASCE accreditation was discussed. The Certification Committee is asked to report back in July on recommendations on how to create transition support and guidance to institutions who have current processes in place for CSCS certification.

Announcements and brief updates were given for the next Board meeting at the National Conference and planning for the next Board Retreat. The meeting adjourned at 10:20 am MT.